Choices – A Wonderful and Sometimes Frustrating Lesson

I like this post by author Alexis Rose so much, I just had to reblog it. Here are some things that particularly jumped out at me:

“I don’t have to be afraid of who I am, or what I have to say.” ~This is a huge lesson to learn, one that I am still learning!

“I used to be so afraid of what others may think of me, or worse, be someone I wasn’t, because I was afraid people wouldn’t like the real me and run away.” ~Oh yes, me too! I can still be like that at times, although I am getting better about this.

Years ago, when my fellow nursing students shocked and honored me by electing me class president — something I did not ask for or expect — I was convinced that if they REALLY knew me, my “mental illness” history, etc, they would not like me. All the way through nursing school I worked super hard to maintain the image I thought was expected of a class president. It almost killed me, but I maintained perfect 4.0 grades in every subject all the way through, because I did not want to let anyone down.

By the end of the year, I sensed that a large number of my classmates had come to regret electing me president. Now, I believe I probably would have been better liked if I had been a lot more authentic.

“…there are times I still get sucked in and find myself in a situation where I need to change or create a boundary. But that’s okay, it’s all a process and a practice. The practice of living an authentic, connected and compassionate life.” ~I don’t have anything to add to this, Alexis Rose said it all, right there.

Thank you for reading, God bless, and Happy New Year. I am keeping comments closed on this post, so you can visit the UNTANGLED blog and comment there, instead. ❤ ❤

Untangled

One of the best and often frustrating lessons that have unfolded from my journey of healing is that I learned I can make choices. Seems like a no-brainer, right?  I could talk the talk, especially whenever drama was involved, but to actually understand that I can make choices about my life was a concept that was a little unconscious for me. This is difficult to admit, but I’m thinking this may be a recurring issue in some people’s lives. Especially those of us who are are healing from trauma. 

Some of the Best Lessons:

I became aware that I can choose to be around people who are working or living towards self-discovery or I can choose to be around people who are satisfied to live with their eyes shut; unwilling to change, grow, and understand that in our world we need compassion and connectedness, not separateness and silence. I can…

View original post 469 more words

