Happy Birthday, Jesus (a song I wrote)

christmas-manger-scene
The image is found HERE

More than thirty years ago when my children were young, I wrote a Christmas Carol that I used to sing to them. I sang my song in church last night at the invitation of our music director. Here are the lyrics:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, JESUS

Happy birthday, Jesus
It’s my favorite time of year
Carolers are singing
Silver bells are ringing
‘Tis the season to be jolly
Merry Christmas cheer

Happy birthday, Jesus
Pretty presents are under the tree
Children’s eyes are all aglow
Building Frosty in the snow
Deck the halls with boughs of holly
Hear the angels sing —

They’re singing “Joy to the world
On the day Christ was born
Joy to the world
On this new Christmas morn!”

Help us, Lord, to share Your love
For the world to see
Christ was born in Bethlehem
Sent to save the world from sin
Peace on earth, goodwill to men, now
With the angels sing:

We’re singing “Joy to the world
On the day Christ was born
Joy to the world
On this new Christmas morn!”

Happy birthday, Jesus
Merry Christmas
And a Happy New Year!

~ ~ ~

Someday when I figure out how to do it, I will add an audio recording of myself singing this song. I sing it in an upbeat, happy tune. (Think Karen Carpenter meets Bing Crosby.) It’s a little goofy, I know, but at least it’s good for a laugh. πŸ˜€

If this is a sad time of year for you because of recent loss, memories of abuse, narcissistic relatives, poverty, illness, or loneliness, I know what all of those things are like and my heart goes out to you. Hang on, it will soon be over!

Thank you for reading and God bless. Here’s a great big grandmotherly ((HUG)) if you want one. ❀ ❀

17 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Jesus (a song I wrote)

    • Linda Lee/@LadyQuixote December 26, 2016 / 7:49 am

      Thank you, it was a very sweet, loving Christmas at our house. Our two rescue dogs, a little boy poodle and a big girl pitbull, added to the hilarity by becoming super excited over their gifts. πŸ˜€

      I hope your Christmas was just as good.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Aura Gael December 25, 2016 / 2:32 pm

    I’m hanging on. And I’ll take that hug. Thank you. ❀

    Your song is beautiful. Not goofy at all. And I love the sound of the two singers you mentioned as well. I was thinking as I read that I wish I could hear what it sounds like.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Linda Lee/@LadyQuixote December 26, 2016 / 7:52 am

      Aww, thank you for saying my song isn’t goofy. Back when I wrote it, I liked all those Christmas carols that my song alludes to. But now, I don’t know. The kids in church seemed to especially like it, though.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Linda Lee/@LadyQuixote December 26, 2016 / 1:00 pm

      Thank you, I hope you did, too. I was just thinking about you and your precious family, wondering how your Christmas went.

      Our Christmas was amazing. One of my best ever, if not the best. Not because of any “thing” and certainly not because of the (small amount of) money we spent. It wasn’t the decorations, either — I was too sad about our pastor friend’s recent death, to put up a tree or hang a wreath and stockings.

      December is the time of year when two of my worst traumas happened. So the Christmas holidays are usually a struggle for me. But this year, after our crazy contentious election, the prednisone shot my Dr gave me the next day, on November 9, for my injured shoulder — then I had a bad long lasting anxiety reaction to the prednisone — and three days after I was given the shot, our friend/neighbor/associate pastor, a man my age, keeled over and died….. with all of that, and more, going on, I just did not want to do Christmas this year.

      But — it was a truly wonderful, joyful, blessed day. One, and primarily, because of Christ. And two, because of all the love in our little house. I was dreading the day so much, but it was glorious!! I plan to blog about it soon. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      • Shattered in Him December 26, 2016 / 1:15 pm

        That is awesome! And, I totally get it. I was thinking the same of this year. The healing and reconciliation happening is what the gift is. I thought of blogging about it, too! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

          • Linda Lee/@LadyQuixote December 27, 2016 / 9:37 am

            Hmm… you have two very young children and Christmas was two days ago. I think having a temporary writer’s block at this point is totally understandable. Don’t worry, this too shall pass. ((HUG))

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC December 26, 2016 / 5:27 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading about your wonderful Christmas Day. I’m so glad to hear that it was lovely. Onward into a brand new year – where our collective prayers will be needed more than ever.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Linda Lee/@LadyQuixote December 26, 2016 / 11:22 pm

      A new year… when I catch myself worrying about what the new year will bring, I remind myself that we only have to live it one day at a time. Whew!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC December 27, 2016 / 12:50 pm

        Me too on the Whew! Life lessons have been coming fast and furious for more than a few years now. I’m hoping that, in 2017, life becomes a tad easier on ALL of us (despite the November election results that make me more than a bit fearful of the opposite for MOST of us with the 1% in charge).
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.