Why are we so apathetic? (comments are now closed)

I recently read an alarming blog post about a serious legislative problem in our country that needs to be addressed. (You can find that post here: DO FEDERAL REGULATIONS PROTECT THE CONSUMER OR THE DRUG MANUFACTURERS?

I left the following two word comment on that post: “Unconscionable greed.” I also put a sad face: 😦 The blog’s author, Doctor Jonathan, replied:

“It is greed, but where is the consumer’s responsibility in this situation. Once aware, how many people do you think will take action by contacting congressional representatives, news media, local newspapers, activist organizations, etc… Anger followed by a PASSIVE RESPONSE satisfies the NEEDS of the special interest groups looking to profit off the consumer. INACTION is exactly what the BIG INDUSTRIES rely on.”

Doctor Jonathan is 100% correct in what he said. So… why aren’t “We the People” doing more to right this wrong — and so many other wrongs — both in our country, and in the world?

Here is my (edited) reply to Doctor Jonathan:

I think a lot of people are just very tired. Everywhere we turn, there’s more bad news, and more and more outrageous wrongdoing… it gets overwhelming. Especially for people like my husband and me. (We are both on disability for severe chronic PTSD.)

A case in point is the water supply here where we live. In July of this year, our village mailed a report about our water to all of the residences in this town. Nothing about the envelope or the beginning paragraphs of the letter gave any indication that our water is seriously TOXIC. Buried in the report was the unsettling fact that our municipal water has “higher than acceptable levels” of…. RADIOACTIVE URANIUM!

Reading the small print, I discovered that the required test which had found this problem was done in 2015. Yet we did not get a “notification” until more than halfway through 2016.

My husband and I agreed that we needed to DO SOMETHING, immediately. Contact our congressmen, the news media, hire a lawyer, something!! Drinking water with high levels of uranium can cause various cancers and kidney problems. For the past two years, my husband’s annual blood work has indicated that things were going south with his kidney function. My recent blood work indicated the same thing.

But now it is almost Christmas, and what have we done? We bought a Primo bottom loading self cleaning water dispenser, and several five gallon jugs of filtered water. Meanwhile, I worry about how many busy young families in this town, never even bothered to read that innocuous looking report.

It’s not that we don’t care, we care very much. But we are feeling completely overwhelmed by LIFE, these days. Yes, I know how pathetic that sounds. And yet, it is the truth. This is why I stopped following blogs for awhile, until recently. I also stopped reading and watching the news…. until the election happened and I went “Huh? What have I missed?!” But the more I read the news, the more helpless, sad, and overwhelmed I feel.

Is there a pill for this? Just kidding…. (Note: like me, Doctor Jonathan is NOT a fan of Big Pharma, as you’ve probably already guessed from the title of his post.)

I am hesitant to post this comment. But I am too old, as a sixty-something great-grandma, to be less than totally honest. Even when the truth makes me look really bad….

(end of my edited comment)

whitesandshiking
Me, walking through White Sands National Monument with our old  Cattle Dog, Lady. The night before, my husband and I were arrested by the Border Patrol in a case of mistaken identity. Seeing those assault rifles aimed right at us was SCARY. This happened in December, 2009. Life in New Mexico is many things, but never boring!

……….Does anyone have any viable suggestions on how to break free of this deadening inertia caused by feeling completely OVERWHELMED by LIFE? Something other than just going ahead and burying ourselves, that is? If so, please tell me about it in the comments, below.

However, if you do post a comment here, please don’t feel offended if I don’t approve it or reply to it right away. I feel like I am either coming down with a sinus infection, or an abscessed tooth. (I don’t want to believe it, but it’s probably my tooth.) Not only that, the temperature is in the single digits outside and everything is covered in snow and ice. But I will soon need to bundle up our two dogs and myself and take them out into the terrible cold to go potty…. and I don’t wanna!! But I must, or there goes the Oriental carpets.

And no, I can’t just open the door and let the dogs out, I must go with them, because we have predator animals living in and around the many vacant houses around us: foxes, coyotes, even black bears. Our Pitbull could probably defend herself — although she is so meek, she runs to me for protection from my stepdaughter’s Chihuahuas! But our little Poodle is too tiny to win in a fight with a hungry wild animal, although HE doesn’t think so. We should have named him Napoleon.

Ah, life. We all have our trials and hardships, every last one of us.

My chaplain husband and I do a lot of praying every day, and we help hurting people in practical ways whenever we can, with food, money for necessities, an encouraging word, etc. Together, we are working very hard on our ongoing healing from our respective PTSD. Although we still have a ways to go, we really have come a long way from where we were, at our worst. And every single day, regardless of what’s happening, we give thanks for the many blessings in our lives.

But there is so much more that we want to do, and feel we ought to do, but DON’T. We’ve bought Christmas gifts for loved ones who live far away, and haven’t even mailed them yet. I haven’t put up the tree, and Christmas is one week from today. The laundry is piling up again, I need to vacuum, and I have this memoir I want/need to finish someday before I die, but it is SO HARD TO WRITE.

OK, I will stop whining now. Thank you for reading, and God bless. Be gentle with yourself and others today. Merry Christmas!

13 thoughts on “Why are we so apathetic? (comments are now closed)

  1. Kristen December 18, 2016 / 3:30 pm

    As one frequently overwhelmed by the demands of life… I can relate, lol!

    The only remedy I have found is learning how to fully cast my cares upon Him. My own practice of it is far from perfect, but I’m growing more proficient the more life throws at me…

    Something hit me in Scripture the other day. When Jesus talks about the end times, and announces that this generation will not pass away before all these signs come about. What generation was he talking about? Likely, the unbelieving one. Which means that the same spirit that convinced religious leaders and Roman officials to murder Jesus, is still at work today, and will continue to be at work in the world as long as it exists in this form. I’m saying all of this because it can encourage us to follow Jesus’ example–He lived one day at a time. Did good wherever He was, whenever an opportunity presented itself, and didn’t fret over the rest, but trusted in God’s power to affect the rest, in God’s perfect timing. Even Jesus, who WAS God, didn’t get distracted by human evil. He focused on God’s will for Him in this life, and let God shoulder the rest.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Linda Lee/@LadyQuixote December 18, 2016 / 5:25 pm

      “Even Jesus, who WAS God, didn’t get distracted by human evil. He focused on God’s will for Him in this life, and let God (the Father) shoulder the rest.” —– WOW WOW WOW. Thank you for this blessed reminder!!!

      During my agnostic years, I would have considered that a cop out. But since the age of fifty, when I finally acknowledged the reality of the preponderance of the evidence in my life, I have been a Christian believer. And this is what I know, as surely as I can know anything: there is a God. And I am not Him.

      What we Christ followers need to seek is our heavenly Father’s will for our lives. Not my will. Not someone else’s will. The Creator’s will. And yes: leave the rest to Him.

      Thank you, Kristen!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Prairie Girl December 18, 2016 / 4:12 pm

    Please don’t worry about scaling back on what you usually do for Christmas this year, Linda Lee. It wouldn’t be a ‘ruined’ Christmas, but a way of being able to enjoy it. You can email me on my contact tab, but otherwise I will pray for your comfort and peace. ((hug))

    Liked by 1 person

    • Linda Lee/@LadyQuixote December 18, 2016 / 4:26 pm

      Thank you!!! After my headache feels better, I will send you an email. My email address has “Lady Quixote” in it. Which means I really should be out fighting windmills, instead of apathetically lying around in bed…. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Doctor Jonathan December 19, 2016 / 2:53 pm

    There are no easy answers or ONE SOLUTION approaches that satisfies everyone’s needs. We must soul search to find the answers (that do exist) deep within each of us. We must also come to realize and accept FAILURE along the way. Every attempt to help create CHANGE to improve the world will NOT be met with open arms. This is reality. This doesn’t mean, however, we should be any less persistent sharing new ideas we believe are in the best interest of society.

    Thank you for bringing this topic up so the world can see and share ideas. Collectively, our thoughts can generate both IDEAS and ACTIONS that just might positively impact this amazing planet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Linda Lee/@LadyQuixote December 19, 2016 / 4:34 pm

      Thank you for this, Doctor Jonathan.

      I especially like what you said under my comment on your post. I hope you don’t mind if I share it here, as I think it will be helpful to my readers with PTSD.

      Here is Doctor Jonathan’s earlier comment:

      I’m so very glad you decided to post this comment. You are just one of MANY voices that feel this way and people need to realize they’re not alone in these thoughts.
      We live in challenging times often filled with concerns that are overwhelming. “Accepting responsibilities” and “taking charge” are concepts that need to be “woven” into one’s life based on one’s emotional and physical abilities. This means that each of us likely possesses different approaches to accomplish these goals. There is no right or wrong way to pursue these tasks.
      Your honesty is important because it shows the TIMING may not be right for you. It is clear you believe in participating and helping people through prayer. It shows kindness and a sincere heart; two qualities this world can use more of.
      I suggest patience while revisiting these concerns with a frequency that DOESN’T become overwhelming. Change is SLOW. Gentle persistence makes many of these tasks easier to pursue with less stress. Sharing and spreading this and other messages that HELP all of us is a great start. Thank you for recognizing value in the message I have shared.
      Wishing you and your family a very Merry Christmas. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Doctor Jonathan December 19, 2016 / 9:58 pm

    Thank you for sharing my words. I appreciate the honor and opportunity to participate with fellow bloggers and help them see new perspectives to move beyond TEMPORARY obstacles interfering with quality living.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Linda Lee/@LadyQuixote December 20, 2016 / 7:37 am

      Indeed. Of course, some obstacles to quality living are short-term temporary: things like having a cold, a flu, a migraine. Some are long-term temporary: recovery from major surgery, recovery from a very bad car accident, recovery from the loss of a very dear loved one. And some obstacles to quality living seem to be more or less permanent: a severe head injury resulting in global brain damage, advanced terminal cancer, and advanced heart failure. Also, some aspects of severe PTSD may be permanent.

      Although my husband and I have both come a very long ways on our healing journey for our respective PTSD issues — his caused by combat in Vietnam, mine from having an abusive dad diagnosed with multiple personality disorder and a mother who tried to gas us all to death, among many other things — certain aspects of our PTSD seem to be frustratingly resistant to healing.

      We have both had PTSD for at least forty years of our lives. We are now in our sixties. But we are both still seeking ways to heal, through ongoing therapy and reading self-help books. We refuse to give up!

      Meanwhile, it does our mental health no good when we beat ourselves up for not being as functional and productive as we would like to be!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Doctor Jonathan December 22, 2016 / 10:40 am

        Your willingness to recognize life’s imbalances while ACTIVELY working to minimize them adds greater quality to living. I couldn’t agree with you more. Staying focused on potential FUTURE growth and better days ahead rather than remaining stuck and “beating yourself up about passed mishaps” is a healthier approach to life.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Opinionated Man December 20, 2016 / 5:50 pm

    Those single digits will definitely slow you down! I get that and I hope it is just a cold!!! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.