How I stay young **updated with important CAUTION and disclaimer**

WhiteSands081-3
This photo was taken in White Sands, New Mexico, when I was 57.

I have wanted to write a post about this for awhile, but hesitated to do so because I don’t want to come across like I think I am “all that.” I am not beautiful and I do not look like a young woman anymore. However, I don’t look like a great-grandmother in her mid sixties, either, although this is what I am. I want to share the reasons why I believe this is so, because I want everyone to look and feel young and healthy for as long as possible.

I give much of the credit to the grape seed extract antioxidant supplement that I have been taking for the past twenty years, plus mercury-free fish oil that I have taken almost as long, and the coconut oil and collagen I’ve added in the past year or two. These supplements, especially the powerful and inexpensive grape seed extract, also seem to help with general health, joint health, cardiac, etc. I get my supplements online from SwansonVitamins.com. I love doing business with them. They have frequent sales and their generous one-year satisfaction guarantee or your money back, can’t be beat.

My husband takes the grape seed extract and krill oil, instead of fish oil, because fish oil upsets his stomach. He had two heart attacks in 2001-2002, before we met and before he started taking the supplements. About two or three years ago his cardiologist told him that his heart has healed to the point where it looks like he never had a heart attack! I believe the grape seed extract and krill oil, along with my love and prayers, may be the reason for this. Especially since he does not exercise, unfortunately, and his weight and diet is still not good.

Nearly every day I walk with our two rescue dogs for at least one mile. When I am out in the sun, I wear long sleeves and a wide brimmed hat to protect my skin. I think sunscreen would work even better, but every sunscreen I’ve tried makes my sensitive eyes and nose run.

When I go a couple of days without walking, I definitely don’t feel nearly as good, either physically or emotionally, as I do on the days that I exercise. I keep trying to get my hubby to get out of his recliner and exercise with us. …Hmm, if I do need surgery on my torn right shoulder (injured when I lifted a heavy window air conditioner all by myself, my bad) maybe my husband will go along on my walks to help with the dogs, while my shoulder is recovering? I see the orthopedic surgeon on November 9. I’ve been feeling nervous about this, especially since I have had bad reactions to anesthesia in the past. But at least there is a silver lining! 🙂

I stopped smoking years ago, smoking really ages a person, both inside and out. I drink plenty of water and unsweetened decaf tea (caffeine gives me anxiety and heart palpitations). I don’t drink alcohol, which is also aging, at least when consumed in excess. And I use antioxidant face creams every morning and night, most of which are also Swanson Products and not expensive at all.

Face exercises seem to help a lot, too. Unfortunately I get lazy about doing them, and then when I see my neck or face starting to sag or wrinkle a little more here and there, I do so many “facercise” exercises that my face hurts! But wow — they really do make a noticeable difference! I learned these exercises from a book by that name, Facercise by Carole Maggio.

I remember when my grandmothers were in their late forties and early fifties, and they both looked much older than I do now. My oldest son is forty-five, my youngest is thirty-five, my grandchildren are all grown, and I have a three-year-old great grandson. Whew…. where do the years go?? I still feel like a young girl inside!!

**IMPORTANT CAUTION: I have learned, both through research and through my personal experiences over the years, that too many antioxidants can be as bad, or worse, than not taking any at all. Also, some health supplements do not mix well with others, and some should not be taken with certain prescription medications. I have learned to research potential side effects and interactions thoroughly, before trying a new supplement.

In my experience, it is best to try just one new supplement at a time, and give it several days, at least a week, to see how I do on it, before adding another supplement. Some of the popular supplements, highly touted for youth and good health, like Dhea (which caused my hair to fall out!), Co Q10, high doses of vitamins E and C, and many other supplements whose names I can’t think of at the moment, did me more harm than good. Every body is different.

In particular, taking several different antioxidant supplements, on top of the grape seed extract, caused both my husband and me to feel very lethargic. We did not realize that our supplements were the cause of our malaise, until I did more research and found some articles about the potential danger of taking too many antioxidants. Then we stopped all of the antioxidants, with the exception of the highly touted grape seed extract, and soon we felt great again.

Sometimes even a doctor’s advice can be mistaken. My old doctor advised me to take a calcium supplement, to ward off bone loss now that I am past menopause. But in my research, I learned that if you take a calcium supplement without taking the proper ratio of Vitamin D3 and Vitamin K2 at the same time, the excess calcium goes into your blood stream and can cause hardening of the arteries. One article I read quoted a Harvard medical doctor, who advised that getting your calcium from food is the safest way to go.

With regards to diet, I eat a lot of vegetables, fruits, salads without dressing, soy beans, soy butter, soy milk, whole grains, cheese, eggs on occasion, rice, beans, and very little meat. I prefer food that is as close to natural as possible: real butter, not margarine, that sort of thing.

**DISCAIMER: I am not a doctor, so do not take anything I say as medical advice! This is simply my opinion, based on my personal experiences.

~Psalm 103 has been my favorite chapter in the Bible for many years. There are a lot of things I love about that Psalm. The promise of having your youth renewed is just one small part of what I like about it. But I have wondered if my love for this particular scripture may be the reason I still look so young? Perhaps God led me to the supplements and face exercise book, because of my love for this Psalm. People just randomly told me about these things, about the grape seed extract and face exercises. I did not go searching for ways to stay looking younger.

I like to read this Psalm aloud, as part of my prayer time and worship:

Psalm 103 Common English Bible (CEB)

Of David.

103 Let my whole being bless the Lord!
    Let everything inside me bless his holy name!
Let my whole being bless the Lord
    and never forget all his good deeds:
    how God forgives all your sins,
    heals all your sickness,
    saves your life from the pit,
    crowns you with faithful love and compassion,
    and satisfies you with plenty of good things
        so that your youth is made fresh like an eagle’s.

The Lord works righteousness;
    does justice for all who are oppressed.
God made his ways known to Moses;
    made his deeds known to the Israelites.
The Lord is compassionate and merciful,
    very patient, and full of faithful love.
God won’t always play the judge;
    he won’t be angry forever.
10 He doesn’t deal with us according to our sin
    or repay us according to our wrongdoing,
11     because as high as heaven is above the earth,
    that’s how large God’s faithful love is for those who honor him.
12 As far as east is from west—
    that’s how far God has removed our sin from us.
13 Like a parent feels compassion for their children—
    that’s how the Lord feels compassion for those who honor him.
14 Because God knows how we’re made,
    God remembers we’re just dust.

15 The days of a human life are like grass:
    they bloom like a wildflower;
16     but when the wind blows through it, it’s gone;
    even the ground where it stood doesn’t remember it.
17 But the Lord’s faithful love is from forever ago to forever from now
        for those who honor him.
    And God’s righteousness reaches to the grandchildren
18         of those who keep his covenant
        and remember to keep his commands.
19 The Lord has established his throne in heaven,
    and his kingdom rules over all.

20 You divine messengers,
    bless the Lord!
You who are mighty in power and keep his word,
        who obey everything he says,
    bless him!
21 All you heavenly forces,
    bless the Lord!
All you who serve him and do his will,
    bless him!
22 All God’s creatures,
    bless the Lord!
Everywhere, throughout his kingdom,
        let my whole being
    bless the Lord!

(From BibleGateway.com)

20160222_daughter_me_Grants_NMv2
This picture of my daughter and me was taken earlier this year in El Malpais, which is Spanish for The Badlands, a very large ancient lava field near Grants, New Mexico. I won’t say how old my lovely daughter is, but she has a daughter who is currently a graduate student at Harvard University.

~ ~ ~

Ads are chosen by WordPress, not by me. I appreciate WordPress so much for providing this terrific blogging platform!

Comments are closed until after my memoir is finished. Thank you for stopping by and God bless. ❤

