Why Rage?

3m2_speak_the_truth_450

I am grateful for this, especially the caution at the end. As Pastor Dave warned: “Most narcissists do not physically abuse, but most abusers are narcissists.”

I know this is true from firsthand experience. I also know, from personal experience, that the most malignant narcissists can be murderers. My mother, the worst narc I have ever known, tried to gas me and my four younger brothers and sisters to death when I was twelve years old. And the malignant narcissist I married when I was twenty-one — following the grooming/brainwashing of my childhood — tried with all his enraged strength to break my neck when I came home half an hour late from work one day. He believed I was late because I was having an affair. I was not, but as I later discovered, he was having an affair. Today, forty years later, with him long gone from my life, I still have daily pain from the damage that man did to my neck. He ruptured all but the top two discs in my neck. I thought he had broken my neck, that’s how painful it was.

So, yes, a raging narcissist can be very dangerous, even deadly. The horror story I just saw this morning in a news headline about a mother stabbing her three children to death… oh dear God. I don’t care what trauma and troubles may have been going on in that woman’s life. It doesn’t get more narcissistic, more EVIL, than that.

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy name. Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever, Amen.

Grace for my Heart

It’s Narcissist Friday!   

Sometimes a term becomes popular simply because it makes so much sense. “Narcissistic rage” just makes sense. Most of us have seen it, experienced it. It reveals itself when the narcissist feels threatened, they say. Sudden, intense, pointed, ruthless, cruel, hate-filled, vengeful, and oddly uncontrolled.

I remember a friend telling me how he put something of his on the top of the narcissist’s car as he was getting into the passenger seat. It was something any of us might have done, and it did no damage. But the narcissist went ballistic! He ranted and raved and shouted, then he referred to the act several times throughout the trip. And, get this, it wasn’t even his car. The car belonged to the company.

So what was that? Was the narcissist so afraid that the car would be scratched? Not really. He might scratch it himself later without…

View original post 810 more words

4 thoughts on “Why Rage?

  1. katiesdream2004 June 4, 2016 / 8:23 pm

    Thank you for posting this. I’m sorry your ex did that monstrous thing to you. In narcissistic toxic families I’ve seen that everyone in the family scrambles while the rage goes on. It is terrifying and it is meant to be. The point is to gain control. They are not losing control they are gaining control of those around them whom they oppress with fear of death or grave harm.

    It is not just your neck that gets damaged by an attempted chocking, but something breaks in our minds. Our view of the world as a place of hope is crushed by narcissistic abuse.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady Quixote/Linda Lee June 4, 2016 / 11:37 pm

      “It is not just your neck that gets damaged by an attempted chocking, but something breaks in our minds. Our view of the world as a place of hope is crushed by narcissistic abuse.” — yes.

      I am so grateful for God’s promise to “heal the broken hearted”. He really does! But I had to learn that I could trust Him first. When you have had a lot of abuse, especially if it started in early childhood, it takes a miracle to learn to trust God. I know you know this, too, from firsthand experience. ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • katiesdream2004 June 4, 2016 / 11:47 pm

        God is especially close to the brokenhearted, to the widow and the orphan. (I think battered women are widows) It does take a miracle to trust, it takes a miracle to repent, to respond to the voice that calls us. Its all grace and miracles. I think if we could see how much grace is given to us everyday, things we don’t even know about, we’d be blown away.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lady Quixote/Linda Lee June 4, 2016 / 11:55 pm

          I agree! Just as a newborn baby has no way to comprehend all that his mother has done to bring him into the world and keep him alive and well, I believe that we have only a faint idea of all that God does to keep us on His path.

          Like

Comments are closed.