When Writing Gets Tough, Just Keep Dancing

Carrie Rubin has written a great writer’s inspirational post for a blah Monday morning.

That is, my morning was blah until I read this. Now I am going to eat some breakfast and then I am going to dance… I mean, write. 😀

Carrie Rubin

“I get up. I walk. I fall down. Meanwhile, I keep dancing.”—Daniel Hillel

I discovered this quote in Bird by Bird, a book on writing by Anne Lamott. She mentions she taped it to the wall near her desk to help her deal with jealousy over another writer’s success.

Although perhaps directed toward life in general, the quote easily applies to the ups and downs of writing: self-doubt, rejection, futility, criticism, creative ruts. What writer hasn’t licked these wounds?

Though I first dipped my toes in the fiction pond fifteen years ago (excluding the novels of my youth that withered after chapter one), I only dived in fully the last four. And in these four years I have:

Gotten up.

Walked.

Fallen down.

And kept dancing.

Photo by Paul A. Warder. Check the bottom of the post to see who the dancer is!* Photo by Paul A. Warder. Check the bottom of the post to see who the dancer is!*

You know the drill. Not…

View original post 188 more words

2 thoughts on “When Writing Gets Tough, Just Keep Dancing

  1. Carrie Rubin April 25, 2016 / 10:55 am

    Thank you for the reblog! I’m so glad it helped your blahs. Your sharing it helps mine too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.