Obesity: Five Take-Home Messages That Might Challenge Your Assumptions

If maintaining a healthy weight is important to you, here is an informative and thought-provoking post written by Carrie Rubin, my favorite doctor author:

Carrie Rubin

Last fall I attended the Cleveland Clinic’s 10th Annual Obesity Summit, a conference I like to go to whenever I can. During the event, I live tweeted snippets from various expert speakers. Given the complex nature of overweight/obesity,* I thought it might be interesting to expound on some of them.

  1. Preventable Chronic Disease

Notice the above tweet does not say “50% of obese U.S. adults.” Regardless of our number on the scale,half of us could better our health by improving our diet and physical activity, no medication required. For example:

  • We could lower our risk of type 2 diabetes by eating less sugar and more whole grains and vegetables.
  • We could increase our bone density by doing weight-bearing exercise and eating…

View original post 681 more words

10 thoughts on “Obesity: Five Take-Home Messages That Might Challenge Your Assumptions

  1. Carrie Rubin April 18, 2016 / 9:37 am

    Thank you so much for the reblog and kind words. Much appreciated! Hope you have a great week ahead. Spring is finally here. Yay!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady Quixote/Linda Lee April 18, 2016 / 10:25 am

      Yay! I definitely like spring the best. Although, here in eastern New Mexico, where the high desert meets the high plains, the weather is unpredictable all year round. Ever since a tornado warned storm back on October 21 totalled our car, and the December 26-27 Goliath blizzard destroyed our roof, I have been feeling like a duck in a shooting gallery.

      But the good news is that our 1930s house was built with oak boards that are 1″ thick, very solid. Plus we have a new metal roof so, unless we get softball sized hail like we did with a supercell storm back in June 2012, we shouldn’t ever have to replace our roof again. Yay!!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Carrie Rubin April 18, 2016 / 10:36 am

        Yikes, sounds scary. I’d love to visit New Mexico some day. I’ve never been. It looks so different from what I’m used to here in Ohio.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lady Quixote/Linda Lee April 18, 2016 / 11:02 am

          New Mexico is different. I was actually on my way from Pennsylvania, where I lived at the time, to California, where I was born, intending to celebrate an upcoming milestone birthday in the place of my birth — I had just gone through a divorce and was feeling a little crazy, er, I mean, adventurous. But I never made it to California, because the strange beauty of New Mexico captured my heart.

          I celebrated my big day with a hot air balloon ride over the Rio Grande in Albuquerque, then I had lunch with my cousin, who had recently moved here from the coast of Delaware. After a few days exploring this state, I decided to move here. It was an impulsive decision at the time, but I am thankful I did it, because this is where I met my best friend husband almost a year later. 🙂

          I like Ohio, too. I remember driving through there a couple of times and thinking it seemed like a nice place to live.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Carrie Rubin April 18, 2016 / 11:13 am

            Ohio is very pretty, much prettier than I expected when I moved here 15 years ago.

            My husband and oldest son did a ten-day backpacking trip through New Mexico a few years ago. It was grueling, but my husband said the scenery was spectacular.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. katiesdream2004 April 19, 2016 / 11:27 am

    I understand why you stayed in New Mexico, it is really enchanting. I lived in Ruidoso in the 80’s for a couple of years until work dried up. I drove through 2 years ago remembering why I loved it, it unlike any place else. Thank you for sharing this article, it is good information!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. katiesdream2004 April 19, 2016 / 11:33 am

    Oh and a functional medicine doctor recommended the Mediterranean diet previously so I’ve heard it recommended before.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady Quixote/Linda Lee April 19, 2016 / 2:53 pm

      I will have to look into that diet. My husband weighs close to 300 pounds and has had two heart attacks.

      What is amazing to me is that the more I choose to eat healthy foods, the more delicious they are to me. Today we went out to lunch with a friend at a buffet style restaurant. All I ate was salad: fresh greens, tomatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, cucumbers, radishes, carrots, celery, and mushrooms, with a light sprinkling of grated cheese, sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, and a few slices of tangerines on the side. And with no dressing! It all tasted so fresh and wonderful that I went back and had a second plate just like the first, bypassing the creamy and fried entrees, the platters of baked goods, the thick soups and stews, and all the rich gooey desserts. The only thing I had besides the salad was a single fresh baked breadstick.

      Not too long ago I would have gorged on everything, telling myself it was OK, because we don’t go out to eat too often. But fresh garden salad with no dressing of any kind was all my taste buds wanted. That and plain water to drink, no teas or sodas.

      It boggles my mind, the way my cravings and my taste buds have changed. I think at least part of the reason for this is because I have been praying for God to help me eat only what I should eat. Changing my sense of taste so that I actually prefer to eat healthier foods is a surefire way to make that happen.

      Now I am praying for God to change my husband’s taste buds. He has already answered my prayers about his heart. The last time he saw the cardiologist, he told my husband that his heart has healed so completely, it looks like he has never had a heart attack. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • katiesdream2004 April 19, 2016 / 10:08 pm

        I’m really encouraged by this. I’ve gained a lot of weight with emotional eating this year. There is something about valuing your life demonstrated by food choices.
        I think the sense of deprivation by dieting is really triggering for people that experienced poverty. Then when you don’t see value in your life or purpose the motivation to eat as if your body is important isn’t there. What a great idea to pray for a change in taste buds! I’m going to do it!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lady Quixote/Linda Lee April 19, 2016 / 10:59 pm

          God definitely answers this kind of prayer. This is actually how I stopped smoking years ago. I had tried many times to quit, without success. Then one day, for no apparent reason, I suddenly hated the taste of cigarettes. I just didn’t want to smoke, so I didn’t. About a week or two later, someone said to me “You aren’t smoking, are you? A couple of weeks ago I prayed and asked God to take cigarettes away from you.”

          I was amazed by that, especially because I was agnostic at that time. But even though I wasn’t walking with the Lord then, He answered my friend’s prayer anyway.

          My husband’s 43 year old daughter moved into our 24′ travel trailer last July. She has smoked since she was 14 years old. She told me that she has tried and failed many times to quit.

          Without telling her or anyone else about it, I prayed and asked God to take cigarettes away from her, the same way He had taken them away from me. My stepdaughter stopped smoking almost immediately and hasn’t smoked since, not even when she and my husband drove to San Diego in February to rescue one of her young adult daughters from an abusive meth user. Although my stepdaughter was extremely stressed with worry during that time, she still didn’t pick up a cigarette.

          I was going to say that I wish all of my prayers were answered like that. But actually, I am glad they aren’t. I want God to answer my prayers according to His will and timing, not mine. 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.