What is Trauma?

This post by the blogger Sleeping Tiger is one of the best I’ve read on the effects of trauma. She begins with the realization: “I’m never truly relaxed”.

Bingo! That’s me in a nutshell. Never Truly Relaxed. Could THIS be the reason why I tire so easily that 90% of my to-do list never gets done? Hyper vigilance is exhausting.

One of the many “simple” things that I find hard to do is talking on the telephone. I get so anxious, afraid that I am going to say something stupid, that I tend to babble. I will start to say something to make a point, then think that I need to bring in some back story to explain what I am saying, and while I’m in the middle of the back story I forget what my original story and point were about, and then while I’m trying to figure that out, I think of something else and go off on another tangent… AUGH!!

I had a recent phone conversation with a fellow blogger who called because she was having a rough day. I wanted so much to help her feel better that I felt an additional self-imposed pressure to say exactly the right thing — only don’t talk too much, allow her to vent and get out what she needs to say, but don’t say too little, she needs to hear an appropriate amount of feedback so she knows she is being heard…. YIKES!!!

I suspect that by the end of our conversation my friend did feel better, if only from realizing how much better she is at talking than I am. 😉

It is exhausting, never being able to truly relax. I think the closest I ever come to feeling really relaxed is when I’m in a service at my favorite church. However, when the minister tells us to shake hands with the people around us… OMG. Plus I have this embarrassing habit of crying through much of the service. Why I do that, I don’t know. Last Sunday I forgot to wear waterproof mascara. It wasn’t pretty.

Without further ado/babbling, here is Sleeping Tiger’s excellent post: What is Trauma?

5 thoughts on “What is Trauma?

  1. jncthedc April 6, 2016 / 8:51 am

    It’s amazing how kind hearted people place the most incredible amount of stress on themselves attempting to help others. There are countless reasons explaining this phenomena, however, suffice it to say it commonly results from a mind working at the speed of light. This is also a common mechanism for anxiety onset. When you feel these feelings (if you can,) back out of the situation and simply BREATHE. Do NOT focus on your content; just BREATHE slowly and relatively deeply. After 7-8 of these breaths, convey your next thoughts in 1-2 sentences. Slowly reintegrate yourself in the entire conversation. Good intentions on your part are creating too many “needs” at once. Become the TORTOISE. Slow yourself down and this will help reduce stress and increase the ability to relax (better.)
    Hope this helps.
    This was a great article to pass to readers. Truly hits home with the meaning of “Trauma.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady Quixote/Linda Lee April 6, 2016 / 11:29 am

      I love your advice. I will try that next time. Only instead of a tortoise, I prefer the mental image of a big fluffy cat purring softly in the sun. Oh, wait, my hubby is so allergic to cats he will start sneezing in my fantasy… lol…. see how my mind works?

      But seriously, thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.