I Care

Strangers
hundreds and
thousands of miles away
faces unseen
names unknown
sitting alone
writing in blogs
words of anguish
words of sorrow
words of hope
dashed
words of love
lost

Souls crying out
from their anguish
into the electric void
lonely
reaching for a hand
to hold
desperate for someone
to care

I care
I don’t know how
anyone could read these aching words
and not care

Sitting in my cozy little house
feeling the fan blow
listening to my husband’s
gentle snores
I know how lucky I am
and my heart aches
because everyone in this hard world
isn’t so lucky

I don’t want
to be a hero
I only want to help
take the pain away

But I am just
one old woman
with a snoring husband
sitting in
a cozy little house.

17 thoughts on “I Care

  1. survivednarc March 16, 2016 / 4:19 am

    How warm and lovely. This made me smile! How wonderfully you described “Blogland” that we all live in. And your caring, it warms the heart!
    Be well. Hugs 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. atimetoshare.me March 16, 2016 / 8:53 am

    I love this!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ruby March 16, 2016 / 6:30 pm

    I love the simplicity of this piece. I’m not calling it simple, but, it says everyday things yet says a lot. It made me feel warm inside.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Object of Contempt March 18, 2016 / 8:07 am

    You don’t know me. Not even my name. I’ve never left a comment on your blog before, so you’ve never heard about my problems with subtle emotional abuse by my wife. But when I read this, I couldn’t help but sob. I don’t feel very manly anyway. The crying doesn’t bother me. Validation and support and kindness are so rare, though… her family is part of this, christians, pastors, biblical counselors all invalidate me and try to dump foolishness about marriage and forgiveness on me, and believe my wife out of hand.

    On-line is the only place I find the kind of validation you wrote about. Caring people shouldn’t be so hard to find. When I read this, it was a reminder that maybe I will find someone to walk with me and be strong through the hell that is coming if/when I make my next move.

    Matt.24 (ASV)
    8 But all these things are the beginning of travail. 9 Then shall they deliver you up unto tribulation, and shall kill you: and ye shall be hated of all the nations for my name’s sake. 10 And then shall many stumble, and shall deliver up one another, and shall hate one another. 11 And many false prophets shall arise, and shall lead many astray. 12 And because iniquity shall be multiplied, the love of the many shall wax cold. 13 But he that endureth to the end, the same shall be saved.

    I know this passage isn’t exactly about this kind of situation. I think, though, that this kind of situation must be far more common in the kind of world those verses describe.

    When people show they care, they are showing that they love.

    Thank you for the encouragement!

    Like

  5. katiesdream2004 March 18, 2016 / 1:28 pm

    This poem touched me thank you for writing it and feeling it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady Quixote/Linda Lee March 29, 2016 / 7:50 pm

      Amen! The Lord is love and without His love in my heart I wouldn’t have any love to give to others.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. annj49 March 29, 2016 / 6:14 pm

    I enjoyed reading this and the picture of your cosy home comforts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.