I’m Going On a 550 Mile Road Trip All By Myself…

th  My daughter, who currently lives in Pennsylvania, is spending a week in Arizona visiting family on her dad’s side. Since New Mexico is “right next door” to Arizona, she wants me to drive to meet her part way, so we can visit for a couple of days.

I live a lot closer to Texas than to Arizona. But this is my only daughter and I haven’t seen her since June 2014 when I took a train to LA and spent ten days visiting with her in Beverly Hills, in the home of her actor friend. My daughter was recovering from surgery during that visit, so it wasn’t as pleasant as it otherwise would have been.

Hopefully, this visit in western New Mexico, although it will only be for a couple of days, will be a lot more enjoyable. I’m looking forward to it, except for one thing: I AM DRIVING THERE AND BACK ALL BY MYSELF. Through — GULP! — ALBUQUERQUE TRAFFIC!

Thirteen years ago I made an 1,800 mile drive, all by myself, in a very long rented Ryder truck. I wasn’t scared one bit, not even when I drove through two tornado warned storms, one in Ohio and the other in Oklahoma. But since I married my best friend hubby in 2004, he insists on doing most of the driving and my driving skills have gotten really rusty… while New Mexico’s highways have gotten a lot more crowded.

I plan to leave in a couple of hours. I will be driving back home on Tuesday. I had a nightmare last night about the car I was driving losing control. I could use some prayers, please. Thank you!!

7 thoughts on “I’m Going On a 550 Mile Road Trip All By Myself…

  1. Mandy February 21, 2016 / 8:18 pm

    I’m inspired by your bravery, Linda. Im scared to drive so I get it. I’m not a prayer but if you’ll accept all my positive thoughts and everything crossed then I’m in!! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady Quixote/Linda Lee February 22, 2016 / 2:30 am

      Thank you, I appreciate your positive thoughts. The drive is long and the country side is amazing. I didn’t kiss the ground when I finally got here, but I blew it a kiss. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mandy February 22, 2016 / 6:33 am

        So glad you arrived safely! 😄

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Mandy February 21, 2016 / 8:18 pm

    Oh and you girls have a wonderful reunion!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thumbup February 23, 2016 / 1:33 pm

    I don’t drive. Too scared. Praying 4 u.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lady Quixote/Linda Lee February 24, 2016 / 6:15 am

      Thank you!! Please say a prayer for my daughter, too. She will be driving back to Phoenix in a few hours and I will be driving back home in the opposite direction. We extended our visit in Grants, New Mexico, an extra day because of a snow and ice storm. We’ve had an awesome time together.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thumbup February 28, 2016 / 5:57 am

        Done and so great you had an awesome day.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.